Follow Us:



Four schemes shortlisted for National Eisteddfod Architecture Pavilion

26 Aug 2015


23 March 2012 12:45


Four entries for the National Eisteddfod of Wales Architecture Pavilion have been announced by the Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW), the National Eisteddfod and Design Circle.

Panel members were pleased to have the opportunity to assess 31 entries for the competition. Entries were diverse in nature and of high quality and the judges spent several hours deliberating before reaching a shortlist.


The shortlist will be assessed at a second judging session in April, to find one winner which will be built as the architecture pavilion for the National Eisteddfod in the Vale of Glamorgan in August 2012. The shortlist is announced as:



Entry No 1         James Lockwood



Entry No 3         Coombs+Jones




Entry No 35       Tomos Owen and James Brady, Mwddrwg



Entry No 51       Rory Harmer, Jerry Tate Architects


Criteria used for judging the entries were set out in the briefing documents and included concept and innovation, spatial arrangements and compliance with current regulations, use of low embodied energy materials and/or renewable energy sources, passive design, construction methodologies and realism around budget. Entries also needed to meet criteria regarding the accommodation of small events, exhibitions and talks, and the National Eisteddfod Architecture Awards events, supported by the Design Commission for Wales.

Dan Benham RIBA, Chairman of Design Circle, said:

“Overall we were very impressed by the quality of entries, the widespread approach to the principles of good innovative design and a clear understanding of the distinctiveness of Wales and the importance of the international reputation of the National Eisteddfod, its most important cultural festival.”


RSAW President Andrew Sutton (BRE South West/ Building Regulations Advisory Committee Wales), Sarah Gealy (Chair, CIBSE South Wales / AECOM) and RSAW Director Liz Walder will join the representatives from the sponsoring organisations and the jury for the second judging session.




  View all posts




Contact Us

Telephone: + 44 (0)2920 396 070 




© Design Circle 2015. All rights reserved.  
Site by